Academy of Primary Care research group

Driving primary care delivery and design for 21st century needs through championing excellence in primary care scholarship

The Academy of Primary Care combines excellence in education, research and scholarship to support and drive the redesign and delivery of the workforce, clinical care, and service design needed for 21st century primary care practice.

The Academy consists of a team of clinicians and academics working in collaboration with partners from across health and social care sectors - local practitioners, members of the public, Clinical Commissioning Groups, Health Education England, the Royal College of General Practitioners and the Society for Academic Primary Care.

Our work covers four areas of practice: supporting innovation in and delivery of primary care research, education, workforce development, and implementation. 


Professor Joanne Reeve - Professor of Primary Care Research, Director of Education

Dr Kevin Anderson - Director of Research

Professor Una Macleod

Professor Ian Watt

Dr Liz Mitchell - Deputy Director of Research

Associate Directors of Education

Dr Julian Clark

Dr Margaret Ikpoh

Dr Asif Firfirey

Dr Andrew Lee

Dr Judith Matthews

Dr Hisham Nobeebaccus

Dr Raghu Raghunath

Research team

Alison Bravington

Nicky Broadley

Dr Hong Chen

Dr Laurie Dunn

Dr Trish Green

Lorna Offerd

Dr Julie Seymour

Dr James Skinner

Dr Julie Walabyeki

Admin team

Chantelle Hodgson

Jackie Houlton (short courses admin)

Pamela Parkinson

Ali Waring

Peter Wells 

PhD/MD students

Myriam Dell Olio

Dr Dan Jones

Academic clinical trainees

Dr Aarti Bansal (In-Practice Felllow, from November 2018)

Dr Andrew Moriaty (Academic Clinical Fellow)

Dr Sian Reece (Academic Clinical Fellow)

Dr David Smith (Academic Clinical Fellow)

Dr Maria Speers (Academic Clinical Fellow)

Affiliated researchers

Dr Terry McCormack (Honorary Reader in Primary Care)

Dr David Pearson (Honorary Professor of Primary Care, Hull York Med School)

Dr Demian Whiting (Senior Lecturer in Philosophy, University of Hull)