Skip to content


Person using a laptop

Our staff


Dr Paul Crampton

Dr Paul Crampton is the lead for the Health Professions Education Unit scholarship activity including: discovery, integration, teaching and application.

Paul's research is in both quantitative and qualitative paradigms with interests in workplace learning, professionalism, professional identity, fitness to practice, continuing professional development, workplace bullying and dignity, curriculum development, and regulation in the health professions.

Paul is Deputy Editor at the leading international journal in the field, Medical Education and Book Series Editor for Contemporary Pedagogies of Medical and Health Professionals’ Education.


Research staff

Dr Amaya Ellawala

Lecturer in Medical Education

Dr Amelia Kehoe

Lecturer in Medical Education

Dr Zivarna Murphy

Research Associate

Professor Joanne Reeve

Professor of Primary Care Research

Dr Marina Sawdon

Director of Assessment & Associate Professor of Medical Education

Professor Paul Tiffin

Professor of Health Services and Workforce Research, Honorary Consultant in the Psychiatry of Adolescence

Honorary Professors

Professor Tim Swanwick

Honorary Professor

Professor Martin Veysey

Honorary Professor

Academic staff

Professor Lucy Ambrose

MB BS Programme Director

Professor Peter Bazira

Director of the Centre for Anatomical and Human Sciences

Dr Jason Boland

Director of Gateway to Medicine Year, Academic Lead Phase III, Senior Clinical Lecturer and Honorary Consultant in Palliative Medicine

Dr Andrew Brown

Senior Lecturer in Medical Education & Rheumatology

Dr Lauren Clunie

Lecturer in Clinical Anatomy

Dr Marie Cohen

Director of PBL

Dr Caitriona Dennis

Lecturer in Medical Education

Dr Gillian Durham

Lecturer in Biomedical Science

Dr Charlotte Dyer

Lecturer in Biomedical Science

Dr Georgios Efthimiou

Lecturer in Microbiology

Dr Amaya Ellawala

Lecturer in Medical Education

Sean Frost

Lecturer in Biomedical Science

Dr Anna Hammond

Deputy MB BS Programme Director, Academic Lead for Clinical Skills and Reasoning, and Director of Communication Skills Teaching

Dr Trevor Johnson

Module Lead and Programme Tutor

Dr Bill Laughey

PGCME Clinical Director

Dr Paul McKeegan

Lecturer in Human Physiology

Professor Matthew Morgan

Dean of Hull York Medical School and Professor of Renal Medicine and Medical Education

Dr Mark Pearson

Reader in Implementation Science

Dr Katie Pybus

Lecturer in Mental Health

Dr Laura Sadofsky

Senior Lecturer in Respiratory Medicine

Dr Kat Sanders

Senior Lecturer in Clinical Anatomy

Dr Frank Voncken

Lecturer in Medical Microbiology, and University Biological Safety Officer

Dr Cheryl Walter

Lecturer in Microbiology

Dr Paul Whybrow

Senior Lecturer

Professor Graham Williams

Professor of Forensic Science

Dr John Williams

Lecturer in Forensic Science

Postgraduate research students

Please visit our postgraduate page for project details of our postgraduate students.

  • Hannah Wakefield – PhD
  • Dr Taha Khan - PhD
  • Richard Bodington - MD
  • Rebecca Quinn - PhD
  • Dr Kishan Rees - MD

Contact us

We welcome enquiries about policy and guidance, collaborations, our research, tutor training, or opportunities to visit or study with us in the Health Professions Education Unit.